Predators Of The Ocean

Predators Of The Ocean

Sharks are an amazing species of fish which are one of the enlisted predators of the ocean. Among the 34000 species of fish present in the world, the 'Megalodons' was the biggest species to ever grace in an ocean until they became extinct. At present, 'Whale Sharks' are the biggest fish species in terms of size (not to be confused with blue whales as they are mammals)

Rhincodon Typus or whale sharks belong to the group of cartilaginous species that can grow up to 40 feet and weigh up to 20 tons. There are almost 440 different species of sharks in the world. As per 2019 statistics, 1000 species of sharks exist, a number which is incrementing as new species are found.

The life span of sharks ranges from 20-30 years. While 'Greenland Sharks' is said to have a life span of 500 years. Some species of sharks can shed 30,000 teeth and also they can loose, replace their teeth as needed. They also can smell 1000 times better than humans, which helps them locate their prey from a quarter-mile away.

Including smell, a shark is said to have 8 senses naming :
  1. Hear
  2. Smell
  3. Touch
  4. Taste
  5. Vision
  6. Pit organs
  7. Lateral lines
  8. Electromagnetism
The primary purpose of these senses is for hunting and survival.
A shark can see up to 50 m underwater and can identify pulses or vibrations to easily locate their prey. The sharks can sense fear as well as they have special cells that can detect electricity known as 'Electrorecepters' which is located in their head.
As mentioned, a shark can smell the scent of blood from a quarter-mile away and can attack its prey instantaneously making them one of the top predators of the ocean.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.